

# Minutes of the Open Meeting of the Agri-Food and Biosciences Institute (AFBI) Board held at AFBI Hillsborough on Wednesday 26 October 2011 at 11.00am

Present – Board Members In Attendance

Mr Sean Hogan, Chair Prof David McDowell, Deputy

Chair

Mr Trevor Hinds

Mr Seamus McCaffrey

Mr Bob McCann

Mrs Hilary McCartan Prof Stewart McNulty

Mr John Rankin

Mrs Hilda Stewart
Mr Michael Walker

In Attendance - AFBI Executive

Dr Seamus Kennedy, CEO Dr Michael Camlin, DCEO

Dr David Bryson, DCEO (Acting) Prof John Davis, DCEO (Acting)

Mr Joel Ferguson, Head of Corporate Services Division (Acting)

Mrs Lynsey Alexander, Head of AFBI Finance (Acting)

Mr Stephen Cousins, AFBI Secretariat

# **Apologies**

Prof Grace Mulcahy, AFBI Board Member Mr James Noble, AFBI Board Member Mr Alan McKeown, AFBI Board Member Mr Paul Brennan, Head of AFBI HR Mr Venkat Deshpande, Head of AFBI Finance

### **Visitors**

See Annex (attached)

### Welcome and Introduction

The Chair, Mr Hogan opened the meeting and welcomed all present.

In his opening remarks, the Chair set the context for AFBI and outlined the diverse and important nature of the work that is carried out, not only on behalf of DARD, but also for the agri-food industry and the Northern Ireland Executive.

The Chair also took the opportunity to thank those who have supported AFBI during the course of the last year. Among those to receive a specific mention were the AFBI staff, the Department of Agriculture and Rural Development Minister, Mrs Michelle O'Neill MLA, her

predecessor Mrs Michelle Gildernew MP MLA and her officials within DARD and the various industry organisations.

In his closing remarks, the Chair stated how much he was looking forward to AFBI going forward from strength to strength.

# Report from the CEO

The CEO provided an overview of the organisation and in so doing focused on a number of key areas such as the work being carried out by the AFBI Board Science Strategy Committee, increased participation in EU consortia, the current Organisational Review of AFBI and the challenges being faced by the organisation in view of continuing financial pressures.

## **Presentations**

Following the overview from the CEO the meeting proceeded with a number of presentations given by members of the AFBI Executive –

- 1. AFBI Annual Report and Statement of Accounts for 2009/10 presented by Mrs Lynsey Alexander (Acting Head of AFBI Finance)
- 2. Scientific Highlights of Applied Plant Science and Biometrics Division presented by Dr Michael Camlin (Deputy Chief Executive Officer and Head of APSBD)
- 3. Scientific Highlights of Agri-Food and Environmental Science Division presented by Prof John Davis (Acting Deputy Chief Executive Officer and Head of AFESD)
- Scientific Highlights of Veterinary Sciences Division presented by Dr David Bryson (Acting Deputy Chief Executive Officer and Head of VSD)

The meeting concluded with the Deputy Chair, Prof McDowell moderating a Question and Answer session during which a number of visitors took the opportunity to raise some relevant points.

With there being no further business, the meeting was then closed and staff at AFBI Hillsborough provided those visitors who had expressed an interest in the Renewable Energy Centre with a guided tour of the facilities.

Signed:		
·	(Chairperson)	
Date:		

Name			Organisation
1.	Mervyn	Atcheson	Ex-employee
2.	Andrew	Baxter	NI Food & Drink Association
3.	John	Calvert	NIPSA
4.	William	Campton	AFBI
5.	Alistair	Carson	AFBI
6.	David	Graham	Animal Health Ireland
7.	Bernie	Hannigan	DHSSPSNI
8.	Valerie	Harkin	AFBI
9.	John	Henning	Northern Bank
10.	Claudine	Heron	NI Grain Trade Association
11.	Robert	Houston	DARD
12.	Geoff	Lamb	Improve NI
13.	Joe	Lawson	Moypark Ltd
14.	David	Mark	AgriSearch
15.	Marcus	McAuley	DCAL
16.	William	Morrison	AFBI
17.	Donna	Mullan	DARD
18.	Robert	Patterson	14 Woodland Park, Lambeg
19.	Michael	Rowe	AFBI
20.	David	Savage	35 Belsize Road, Lisburn
21.	Bill	Stanley	AVIAGEN
22.	lan	Stevenson	Livestock & Meat Commission for NI
23.	David	Torrens	NI Veterinary Association
24.	Fiona	Young	AFBI
25.	Stanley	McDowell	AFBI
26.	Eddie	Doyle	AFBI

Final