

# Minutes of the Open Meeting of the Agri-Food and Biosciences Institute (AFBI) Board held at AFBI (HQ) Newforge on Tuesday 26 March 2012 at 11.00am

#### **Present – Board Members**

Mr Sean Hogan, Chair
Prof William McKelvey, Deputy Chair
Mr Trevor Hinds
Mrs Hilda Stewart
Mr Bob McCann
Mrs Hilary McCartan
Mr Seamus McCaffrey
Prof Patrick Murphy
Dr Cecil McMurray
Mrs Sarah Havlin

#### In Attendance - AFBI Executive

Prof Seamus Kennedy, CEO
Dr Sinclair Mayne, Director of SAFSD
Dr Michael Camlin, DCEO, Head of APSBD
Mrs Lesley Hogg, Director of Finance & Corporate Affairs
Mr D Griffiths, Finance Improvement Project Lead

Mr James Adams, AFBI Secretariat

#### **Apologies**

Mr Ken Millar

Mr David Lindsay, AFBI Board Member Mr Alan McKeown, AFBI Board Member Dr Stanley McDowell, Director of Veterinary Sciences Division

#### **Visitors**

See Annex (attached)

#### Welcome and Introduction

The Chair, Mr Hogan opened the meeting with a word of welcome and made a specific reference to Martina Anderson MEP and thanked her for taking time out of her busy schedule to attend.

In his opening remarks, the Chair set the context for AFBI and outlined the diverse and important nature of the work that is carried out, not only on behalf of DARD but also for the agrifood industry and the wider economy.

The Chair also took the opportunity to thank the Strategic Investment Board (SIB) for its input into the recent Organisational Review of AFBI.

In his closing remarks, the Chair noted that his tenure as AFBI Chairman would be drawing to a

close at the end of the next financial year and stated that he has every confidence that AFBI will continue to go from strength to strength in the years ahead.

#### Report from the CEO

The CEO provided an overview of the organisation and in so doing focused on a number of key areas such as:

- Maintaining scientific excellence to assist in the delivery of high quality services to DARD and other customers
- Further development of research collaborations
- Increase participation in EU consortia Horizon 2020
- Progress of the recommendations arising from the Organisational Review of AFBI

As well as this the CEO also highlighted a number of other challenges being faced by the organisation.

The CEO noted the pending retirement of Dr Mike Camlin, DCEO and Head of Applied Plant Science and Biometrics Division (APSBD), and took the opportunity to thank him for his many years of excellent service to AFBI and prior to that, DARD Science Service.

#### **Presentations**

Following the overview from the CEO the meeting proceeded with a number of presentations by the AFBI Executive.

- 1. AFBI Statement of Accounts 2011/12 presented by Mrs Lesley Hogg, Director of Finance & Corporate Affairs
- 2. Scientific highlights in: Agri-food and Environmental Science Division, Applied Plant Science and Biometrics Division, and Agri-food Economics Branch presented by Dr Sinclair Mayne, newly appointed Director of the Sustainable Agri-Food Sciences Division (SAFSD) which will become operational with effect from 1 April 2013
- 3. Scientific highlights in Veterinary Sciences Division presented by Prof Seamus Kennedy, CEO

#### **Question and Answer Session**

The meeting concluded with the Deputy Chair, Prof McKelvey moderating a Question and Answer session during which a number of visitors took the opportunity to raise some relevant issues.

With there being no further business, the meeting was then closed and staff at AFBI Newforge provided visitors with the option of a number of guided tours covering various business areas.

Signed:		
	(Chairperson)	
Date:		



# **AFBI OPEN MEETING**

### 26 MARCH 2013

## **LIST OF VISITORS**

Title	First Name	Surname	Organisation
Mrs	Martina	Anderson	MEP
Mr	Paul	Henry	Adviser to MEP
Prof	Tony	Bjourson	University of Ulster
Mr	James	Brown	UFU Policy Chair
Mr	John	Calvert	NIPSA
Mr	James	Campbell	AgriSearch
Prof	Chris	Elliott	Queens University
Mrs	Claudine	Heron	NI Grain Trade Association
Mr	Fergal	McAdam	Alltech
Mr	Gary	McHenry	AgriSearch
Prof	Geoff	McMullan	University of Ulster
Prof	Stewart	McNulty	Former AFBI Board Member
Mr	Des	Thompson	Vet NI
Mr	Ivor	Ferguson	Pork & Bacon Committee for UFU
Mr	John	Thompson	AFBI-Food Strategy Board
Dr	Lance	O'Brien	Teagasc
Mr	Joe	Byrne	MLA – Agriculture Committee